Accepting Submissions for The Claudia Emerson Poetry Chapbook Award for 2016



Claudia Emerson

We’re extraordinarily honored to have Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon as our judge for The Claudia Emerson Poetry Chapbook Award for 2016, honoring the legacy and spirit of beloved poet Claudia Emerson. Submissions are now open!

 The winner will receive $500 plus five letterpress-cover copies of the chapbook, which will be hand-bound and printed in an edition of 100. Please read the submission guidelines and enter the contest here.

The deadline for contest submissions is May 15, 2016.
You can also order Drought, M.L. Brown’s winning chapbook from last year’s inaugural award, by clicking here.
Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon is the author of Open Interval, a 2009 National Book Award finalist, and Black Swan, winner of the 2001 Cave Canem Poetry Prize, as well as Poems in Conversation and a Conversation, a chapbook in collaboration with Elizabeth Alexander. Her work has appeared in such journals as African American Review, Callaloo, Crab Orchard Review, Gulf Coast, and Shenandoah, and in the anthologies Bum Rush the Page, Role Call, Common Wealth, Gathering Ground, and The Ringing Ear: Black Poets Lean South. She is currently at work on a third collection, The Coal Tar Colors.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s