Excerpt: Slaughtering Hogs by Paul Luikart

Published by J. New Books, June 2024

I wandered my last in the little grove with blood all down my shirt, all a-gleam in the moonlight. When they find me, they’ll think I was only slaughtering hogs. Long into the night, he must’ve been, slaughtering hogs by the moonlight.

From “Slaughtering Hogs” (The Realm of the Dog, available in Paperback from J. New Books on June 22, 2024)

Paul Luikart is the author of the short story collections Animal Heart (Hyperborea Publishing, 2016), Brief Instructions (Ghostbird Press, 2017), Metropolia (Ghostbird Press, 2021), The Museum of Heartache (Pski’s Porch Publishing, 2021), and The Realm of the Dog (J. New Books, 2024). He serves as an adjunct professor of fiction writing at Covenant College in Lookout Mountain, Georgia. He and his family live in Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Leave a comment